Job Search

I recently graduated from OU with a degree in Journalism—Professional Writing and I also minored in English Writing. While in the program I wrote a 50,000 word novel, a 75 page screenplay, 6 short stories of 4,000 words or more, countless poems and essays (and a partridge in a pair tree). I am in love with writing, but at this moment in life, I have no desire to pursue a writing career and I think it’s safe to say, I’m a little burnt out. I’m happy I spent all that time writing, writing and writing/learning, but I’m ready for something new. Here’s my dilemma. With my degree in hand, I can’t seem to find a job. I know times are tough, and I have no doubt that something will come along soon, but I want to do something fulfilling and where I can let my creative juices flow…and of course I want to make some dough. There has to be something out there for me.

Meanwhile, I noticed something about myself. I tend to move from hobby to hobby, passion to passion. Basketball was my life before college, then it gradually moved to writing, and specifically writing poetry. I still dabble in my poetry, but I think it’s time to find a new hobby/passion. So… I think I’ll pursue photography. I think I have a good eye for placement and for beauty. I have no idea how to use anything except a digital camera, so I have decided to take some beginning photography classes and see what happens. I will continue to work at my current job that I’ve held for 3 years now and move in the direction of my dreams to become a photographer. I figured, since I can’t really paint, sew, play an instrument, or sing, I can find another way to be creative and make art. Capturing glimpses of life/still moments sounds very intriguing! I’ll keep you updated. Love to all.

Morgen

About KindandCrazy

I like to express my creativity and explore the depths of my own mind (and others). I really do live in the moment.. sometimes to a fault. I love and embrace the gift of life. I am a dreamer.
This entry was posted in On a Personal Note.... Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Job Search

  1. Chris says:

    You will be great!

Leave a comment