Exciting Things

I’m excited that my family decided to put together a blog of family recipes. I love sharing recipes, making new things and learning how my family has made things over the years of my life. You can visit the website if you like – I guarantee everything on it is amazing. http://familygrub.wordpress.com.

I’m also excited that STS9 is touring this spring and I get to see them at least twice – maybe 4 times. Sets that Gareth and I have been listening to lately are the recent Fox Theater, Halloween, and the most beautiful of all – Cain’s 2008. Nothing compares to that last one. If you haven’t listened to it yet, or it’s been awhile, I definitely recommend it. If I had only gotten into their music a year earlier, I would have been there! We always go through Tribe phases. There are times when I just don’t feel like listening to them for whatever reason. Just need to change it up. So I don’t for awhile. Then Gareth usually introduces me to something new from them that I haven’t heard before and I am hooked again. I’m thankful that there are always things I can depend on in life – things that are nostalgic and beautiful and put me in good moods when I need uplifting. STS9 does that for me, musically. I can also depend on White Christmas! We watch it every year, have every line memorized, and it is my favorite Christmas movie of all time. No matter what’s going on, when we put that movie on, our spirits (me and my mom’s especially) are immediately lifted. I can’t wait to watch it on Christmas Eve by the fire.

Any classic movie will do that for me really. It’s a love affair I’ve had since I was very young. I love each decade and can appreciate them for different reasons. I guess any movie from the 40’s – 60’s really has my heart, or any movie that resembles the same themes as this era. I could watch Tuner Classic Movies all day long, and I used to when I was single/alone more. I just love the suspense, the theatrical nature, the hidden and subliminal messages, the “breaking out” roles women played living amidst a man’s world, the mystery, the escapism from a cold world, the screenwriting, and the harsh realities finally being displayed in moving pictures. It’s almost kind of eerie. It’s the beginning of all movies that we see today. I love Hitchcock films. I also love Barbara Streisand movies. If you like classic movies, here are some I would recommend:

Midnight Lace, Casablanca, All About Eve, Whoever Slew Auntie Roo?, On the Waterfront, West Side Story, Splendor in the Grass, The Days of Wine and Roses, The Way We Were, ANY Hitchcock film but some of my favorites are Rear Window, Psycho, Dial M for Murder, Rebecca, The Man Who Knew Too Much (1956), and of course The Birds! Bonnie and Clyde, Imitation of Life (with Lana Turner), Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Citizen Kane, Whatever Happened to Baby Jane?, Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte (or anything with Betty Davis!), Lolita, Mildred Pierce, The Maltese Falcon, The Three Faces of Eve…. okay that’s a good start.

I could definitely keep going, but these all have made a huge impact on me. And my mom could add a bunch to the list too. If you have any suggestions, let me know! I love how we use the movies (and now awesome television shows) for escapes/outlets and there is something to be said about their purpose. Books are the same way, and I love reading books, escaping to a new world, a new character and living through the words on the page, using my imagination. Movies are manifestations of someone else’s vision/imagination and can have all different kinds of effects on us.

I am also excited about 2013 in general. I’m so thrilled about Christmas 2012 and feel like it’s a perfect end to a perfect year. Not only did Gareth and I get married, have an awesome wedding and spend our honeymoon in Mexico… there are so many other awesome things to look back on! We started the year with a ski trip – a family vacation since I was little, but this time Gareth could be with us! Gareth and I got to see Phish, Radiohead, Roger Waters and Red Hot Chili Peppers! We had the BEST time at Norman Music Festival, Wakarusa and especially Electric Forest! We got to go to a few local shows like Lotus, Nadis Warriors, Beach House, Ott, Keller Williams, Beats Antique, The Flaming Lips for Halloween and Primus! Gareth and I had such a blast at our bachelor/bachelorette parties and all the events leading up to the wedding. Not to mention we celebrated my brother’s 21st birthday and my parents’ 25th wedding anniversary. And Gareth had THE BEST YEAR at work! All while planning a wedding. And of course I’m leaving some things out, but this is the first year that I’ve really lived every moment to the fullest, taken everything in and remembered most of it. It seems to have gone by fast, but I couldn’t have asked for a better 2012… probably the best year of my life. So here’s to 2013, looking to the future and the unknown, wondering what’s in store for me at the age of 25! Thus far, I know I’ll be traveling overseas for the first time ever to visit Wales, where Gareth’s father was born and raised… and we will be buying our first home!

About KindandCrazy

I like to express my creativity and explore the depths of my own mind (and others). I really do live in the moment.. sometimes to a fault. I love and embrace the gift of life. I am a dreamer.
This entry was posted in Film, Music, On a Personal Note... and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

